Practical Testsrrts4

Module 1

Module one includes the following manoeuvres:

  • wheeling the motorcycle and using the stand
  • slalom and figure of eight
  • a slow ride
  • U-turn
  • cornering and controlled stop
  • cornering and the emergency stop
  • cornering and hazard avoidance

There is a minimum speed requirement of around 30 miles per hour (50 kilometres per hour) for the hazard avoidance and emergency stop exercises. There is no minimum speed
requirement for the first cornering and controlled stop exercise.

The Module 1 test last approximately 5-10 minutes.

The pass mark for module one

You can make up to five rider faults and still pass module one. If you make six or more rider faults, you won’t pass the module.

If you make one serious or dangerous fault, you won’t pass module one.

Go to our downloads section for full size print outs of the module 1 layout.

Module 2

Module two is the on-road module and typically takes around 40 minutes.

You must bring your module one pass certificate to module two, along with all the documents you had to bring to the module one test.

If you don’t bring the right documents:

  • your test may not go ahead
  • you may lose your fee

This module includes the:

  • eyesight test
  • safety and passenger questions
  • road riding element
  • independent riding section

The eyesight test

The examiner will ask you to read the number plate on a parked vehicle to test your eyesight. If you fail the test, your riding test won’t continue. This will be from 20m.

Vehicle safety and balance questions – Click here to download your copy of the questions.

Road riding element

You’ll ride in a variety of road and traffic conditions. You’ll be asked to carry out:

  • normal stops
  • an angle start (pulling out from behind a parked vehicle)
  • a hill start (where possible)

The examiner will give you directions using a radio. hey will normally follow you on a motorcycle.

Independent riding section of the riding test

Your riding test will include around ten minutes of independent riding. This is designed to assess your ability to ride safely while making decisions independently.

During your test you’ll have to drive independently by either following:

  • traffic signs
  • a series of directions
  • a combination of both

To help you understand where you are going when following verbal directions, the examiner will show you a diagram.

What happens if you forget the directions

It doesn’t matter if you don’t remember every direction, or if you go the wrong way – that can happen to the most experienced drivers.

Independent driving is not a test of your orientation and navigation skills. Driving independently means making your own decisions – this includes deciding when it’s safe and appropriate to ask for confirmation about where you’re going.

At the end of module two

At the end of module two, the examiner will give you the result and feedback. If you pass, the examiner will explain to you how to change your provisional licence into a full licence.

Your riding test result

At the end of each module the examiner will tell you whether or not you have passed.

The different types of faults that can be marked

There are three types of faults that can be marked:

  • a dangerous fault – involves actual danger to you, the examiner, the public or property
  • a serious fault – could potentially be dangerous
  • a rider fault – not potentially dangerous, but if you make the same fault throughout your test it could become a serious fault

The pass mark for module two

You can make up to ten rider faults and still pass module two. If you make 11 or more rider faults, you won’t pass the module.

If you make one serious or dangerous fault, you won’t pass module two.